The club has had a strong committee over the years which has kept the club alive and interacting with other local and national events. The first meeting was held in Kate Leen’s house in Causeway in Autumn 1960. The only light was an old oil lamp. At the meeting were Andrew Sheehy, Seamus Hussey, Richard Casey, Dick Keane and Denis McCarthy.

The first Branch meeting was held in 1960 in November. Officers elected were President: Father Curran C.C. Chairperson: Seamus Hussey, Vice Chairperson: John Lyons, Secretary:  Denis McCarthy, Treasurer: Richard Casey, P.R.O.: Dick Keane, Delegates to the County Board: Seamus Hussey and Denis McCarthy, Mr Jer Keane attended as representative from the County Board.

Early on it was decided to form a band The Shannonvale Ceili Band. This had been in existence since the late 50’s led by Dr. Michael Sweeney, Ballyduff. This band also included Harry Power and Liam Power of the Cashen. It was decided to call the new Comhaltas Band The  Shannonvale Mark 2 and so the Members were Dr Michael Sweeney, Seamus Hussey, Harry & Liam Power, Richard Casey, Denis McCarthy Others joined later Martin Cronin, Jack Regan, Mick Madden, Harry Sullivan, Ballyduff, and Jerry Flaherty.

This band played for a few years from 1960 onwards, mainly at dances in the North Kerry Area. Amplification was provided by Paddy McElligott Kilflynn. From about 1965 the branch ceased to be. In the 1970’s it re-emerged under Nelius Carmody and had a number of successes in Set-Dancing competitions. Those involved at that time included Nelius and Kay Carmody, John Hanlon, Pat Stack, J.P. Barrett. Tom Barrett, Kay Moriarty and Geraldine O’Connor.

Later the Branch continued with John Canty in the Chair, Christina Canty as Secretary and others.

Richard Casey, Seamus Hussey, Harry Power, Paddy McElligott, Harry Sullivan, Liam Power, Denis McCarthy

Richard Casey, Seamus Hussey, Harry Power, Denis McCarthy And Jerry Flaherty.



At the most resent AGM in October 2009 the following delegates were elected in the following roles

•President - John Lyons

•Vice President - Denis McCarthy and Liam Power

•Chairman - Johnny O’Carroll

•Vice Chairman - J.P. Barrett and Philip O’Dwyer

•Secretary - Christina Neilan

•Assistant Secretary - Norma O’Donoghue

•Treasurer - Marion Hussey

•    P.R.P - Doreen Egan

•    Youth Officer - Maureen Hussey

  1.    Youth Committee- Peter O’Dwyer, Sean O’Dwyer,  Jackie O’Carroll and  Breda Hussey

•Delegates to the county Board - John Canty, Marion Hussey and John Neilan

•Treoraí Na Gaeilge - Bríd Uí Dhuibhir